An ore hopper on Middle Level, Coniston.
Photo. courtesy of CATMHS
Coniston Coppermines, c.1895.
Cumbria Amenity Trust Mining History Society
Cumbria Amenity Trust Mining History Society (CAT) was founded in 1979 to explore and document mining remains and related industrial workings, to research mining history, to preserve the historic archaeology in Cumbria and elsewhere and to raise awareness and regard for our mining heritage.
The Society has been involved in exploration and research throughout the UK, but has always had a special interest in Coniston Copper mines. During the 1980’s and 1990’s CAT members systematically explored, surveyed and documented the Coniston copper mines. Since then we have become more involved with conservation and at our expense have rebuilt and protected many entrances and collapses. CAT has worked with the LDNPA, the Environment Agency, English Nature and the National Trust to promote interest in our industrial heritage and
is involved with the current Heritage Lottery Fund conservation scheme for Coniston Coppermines and Penny Rigg Copper Mill.
CAT has published several books as well as a set of trail leaflets, and produces a quarterly Newsletter and an occasional Journal. We maintain a book collection, a collection of mine plans and a collection of mining documents and photographs, kept here at the Armitt Museum and Library. For more information visit our website, www.catmhs.org.uk